top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoelle Nakaoka

Know Before You Go - Study Abroad Copenhagen, Denmark

To aspiring or soon to be study abroad students in Copenhagen, Denmark, feel free to use these tips to prepare!



I was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii so the thought of spending my first 3-4 months of study abroad in 30 degree Fahrenheit weather was both exciting and something I wasn't sure I was prepared for. Keep in mind that I am studying during the spring semester, which is pretty different than the fall semester in terms of wardrobe! I have also never visited Denmark so I didn't know quite what to expect from the city. If you feel similarly, these tips may help you kickstart the study abroad of your dreams!


 

Tip #1: Sign up for the Buddy Program


Having a buddy is a lifesaver during your first week of your study abroad. You should have or will receive an email to your CBS account with a link to sign up for a buddy. I got very lucky to have the best buddy who has given me a plethora of suggestions for everything I need, but I've heard most buddies are also very helpful! If your buddy is in Copenhagen when you arrive, they usually get your dorm key for you and come to pick you up from the airport which is incredibly helpful after a long flight and with some anxiety about figuring out how to get to your dorm using the metro.


Tip #2: Invest in heat tech clothing


Don't underestimate the cold! Even if the weather app says it's a few degrees warmer than usual, wind chill can make it seem much, much colder! I suggest investing in Uniqlo heat tech clothing of all levels of warmth, both tops and leggings.


Tip #3: Don't bring hair straightener, blow dryer, etc.


Don't bother bringing any hair things that you have to plug in because there is a difference in voltage and you could possibly set something on fire (or so I've been told). It is very easy to purchase any hair needs (and other sanitary things) from a store called Normal, which has many locations all over the city.


Tip #4: Don't freak out if you don't have your visa yet


This tip is specifically for students a few months away from studying abroad in Copenhagen! I got my visa about 1.5 months after I visited the San Francisco office to apply (which I am assuming was due to COVID and the holiday season). To enter the country, just make sure you have your acceptance letter printed and the email from VHS which shows your application is being processed. Customs was very understanding and took about 2 minutes!


Tip #5: Read this Survival Guide


If you are still a little nervous about your study abroad, this guide will help you know what to expect! If in the future that link does not work, search up "International Students Survival Guide to Life in Denmark".

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to save money in CPH

Hawaii is expensive and so is Copenhagen. Here are some tips on how to save money during your study abroad. 1) Too Good To Go Download this app which helps restaurants reduce their food waste and allo

Studying Abroad is not what you see on social media.

In Copenhagen, Denmark, I had the most wonderful four months of my life. However, studying abroad wasn't exactly what I thought it would be. I've seen many friends' study abroad posts on social media,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page